Continuing midwifery education accreditation

Provider accreditation

Under the requirements of the Recertification Programme for Midwives (2017), the Midwifery Council accredits providers of midwifery continuing education and approves other continuing midwifery education events.

Accreditation is granted to those organisations that demonstrate that they have systems and structures in place in order to provide quality education to midwives that meet the requirements of the Recertification Programme. These organizations have a strong culture of midwifery practice and history and commitment to continuing midwifery education. Council accreditation is granted in the first instance for a period of 12 months.

Schools of midwifery are accredited to provide continuing midwifery education through their pre-registration programme quality assurance processes.

The following organisations are accredited as providers of continuing midwifery education:

Schools of Midwifery

Ara Institute of CanterburyAuckland University of Technology
Otago PolytechnicVictoria University of Wellington

Current status: Continuing midwifery education accreditation is in line with the pre-registration programme accreditation

Other Organisations

Auckland DHBLakes DHBTairawhiti DHB
Bay of Plenty DHBMidcentral DHBTaranaki DHB
BirthcareNelson/Marlborough DHBWaikato DHB
Canterbury DHBNorthland DHBWaitemata DHB
Capital and Coast DHBNew Zealand College of Midwives (NZCOM)Wairarapa DHB
Counties Manukau DHBSt George's HospitalWest Coast DHB
Hawkes Bay DHBSouth Canterbury DHBWhanganui DHB
Hutt Valley DHBSouthern DHB 

Current status: The above organisations are accredited for the provision of continuing midwifery education until 31 March 2021.

Application process

Please use the following application form and template documents when applying for accreditation as a provider of continuing midwifery education. Please allow 20 working days for processing:

Application form

Please use the following application form and template documents when applying for accreditation of an event/s. Applications must be received at least 20 working days before the event/s for processing: